Pioneer School for the Visually Impaired

Before we got to the school we made a quick pit stop at a road side restaurant/store. My friend and I took advantage of this and took a lot of pictures 😌.

Hey there my fellow bloggers! I haven’t been posting a lot lately simply because school has kept me sooo busy :twisted:. This post is going to be about my experience spending a day at a school for the visually impaired, so here it goes 💭.

This is my friend and I, we went together with a few other people from our school.

The school we went to is quite big, but we only remained  in one section of the school. We got a tour of that section and the teachers at the school explained to us how the students go about in the school, how they play their sports and how certain things are adapted for them. We were taught how to lead a blind person, it was really fun because we had to partner up with one of our friends and each one had a chance to be blindfolded and one had to lead the other.

We got cards with the alphabet and numbers in braille.

Each student from my school got paired up with a student from the Pioneer School and we basically had to follow them, go to their classes and spend the day with them.

My host was partially blind but others did get blind hosts. My host was so naughty 😂. He tried to bunk a class with one of his friends once and I had to be with him the entire day because his my host so I couldn’t do much about it. His extremely funny too 😂. 

We learnt cool things like a bible for us is typically one book, but to have a full bible in braille,would be 52 separate books.So blind people can’t take a bible if they go to church 😮.

The amount of students in their class is extremely small. Their classes consists of 5 to 10 kids in one class, whereas we have like 30 in a class. In one class, they get taught how to face the outside world, like crossing the street and knowing the street names, malls, etc.

We didn’t take any pictures in the school, so these pictures were taken before we got there.

Overrall it was an amazing experience and we learnt new things. I would definitely visit the school again.


Leave a Reply

